Dog LicensesDog Licenses Expand
Dog Licenses are now available for the 2021 Calendar Year.
Last Day to get your Dog License for 2020 is Jan 31st.
February 1st is a $25.00 Late fee per dog.You may now License your Dog Online at:
What you will need:
- Credit Card
- License/Tag number (Renewal only)
- State of Maine Rabies certificate
- Veterinarian’s name and phone number
- Spay or Neuter Certificate (if your dog has been “fixed”)
M.R.S.A. Title 7 3921-3924 + 3941-3952
As required by State of Maine law, every dog over 6 months of age shall be licensed by its owner in the Town/City where the dog resides prior to December 31st of every year.
Please bring a certificate of spay/neutering (if applicable), and a current rabies certificate.Dog Licensing Fees Expand
Dog Licensing Fees
- $6 per year for spayed / neutered dogs
- $11 per year for dogs not spayed / neutered
- Per state law, any dog license that is relicensed after January 31 will be subject to a $25 late fee
- Local Animal Control Officers and State Humane Agents
- Investigation of animal cruelty complaints & enforcement of animal welfare laws
- Compliance with rabies vaccination of dogs
- Care for sick and injured stray animals
- Return of lost dogs to their owner
Vital RecordsBirth Certificates Expand
Birth records are available at the town/city hall where the child was born, at the town/city hall where the mother was living at the time of the birth, and in Augusta at the Bureau of Vital Statistics.
Birth certificates that are older than 75 years from today are considered open records.
Application for a certified copy Birth CertificatesDeath Certificates Expand
Death records are available at the town/city hall in the municipality where the person passed away, at the town/city hall of the place of residence of the deceased, and in Augusta at the Bureau of Vital Statistics.
Death certificates that are older than 25 years from today are considered open records.
Application for a certified copy Death CertificatesMarriage Certificates Expand
Marriage records are available at the town/city hall in the municipality where the couple applied for the license, and in Augusta at the Bureau of Vital Statistics.
Marriage licenses that are older than 50 years from today are considered open records.
Application for a certified copy Marriage Licenses & CertificatesDivorce Decrees Expand
Divorce records are not filed at the municipal level. Certified copies of divorces must be obtained from the court where the divorce took place.
Fees for Certified Copies:
Certified copies are $15 for the first copy, and $6 for each additional copy (when purchased at the same time).
Access to Vital Records:
A requestor of a certified vital record must provide positive identification including, but not limited to, a driver’s license, passport or other government issued picture identification. Requestors who are immediate family members must provide proof of lineage, if not listed on the record being requested. Requestors who are not immediate family members must also provide written proof that they have a direct and legitimate interest in a record before one can be issued to them. Someone who is not entitled to a record as a family member or who cannot prove a direct and legitimate interest can complete and submit a Release of Vital Records Application.
Certified copies of vital records can be requested through an online service with a debit or credit card, which charges an additional $6 processing fee, a $2 (non-refundable) ID verification fee, plus .50 in postage.
Vital requests are generally processed the same day they are received.
Applying for a marriage license:
Please contact the Town Clerk to make an appointment for a marriage license and to obtain the Intention of Marriage Application. The fee is $40. If there are prior marriages, please be prepared to show proof of how the most recent marriage ended Death Certificates.
IF & WHunting and Fishing (Sporting) License Information Expand
Online: Purchase your license by utilizing the State of Maine’s online services.
In Person: Hunting and fishing licenses can be purchased in the Town Clerk’s office during regular business hours. Please bring a prior hunting or fishing license with you to expedite the processing of your new license. 2021 Licenses will become available after December 1st annually.
Laws of the Maine Outdoors: Download Inland Fisheries and Wildlife law books here.
You can purchase Hunting & Fishing Licenses online on the I,F & W Website if you can’t make it into the office during regular business hours, click the link below. Have your MOSES ID # from your previous License.ATV & Snowmobile Registrations Expand
ATV and Snowmobiles registrations are now available for purchase. The renewal fee is $45 plus $1 agent fee. Please bring in your old registration to expedite the renewal registration. You can also register your recreational vehicles online thru MOSES. The link is below. Have your Registration # available from your previous Registration. All new ATV & Snowmobile registrations must be done at the Town Office.Boat Registrations Expand
Boat registrations are subject to excise tax. The amount of the tax is based on the length of the boat, the age of the boat, and the horsepower of the motor. The registration fee is based on the horsepower of the motor. An agent fee of $1.00 is also collected. Boat excise tax must be paid in the owner’s town of residence regardless of where the boat is docked. Boat registrations expire December 31 each year.
The Town of Mercer now offers online boat registrations at: https://www5.informe.org/online/boat/